How to Locate the Cookies Folder in Windows Vista

by Updated April 11, 2009

Finding Cookies in Windows Vista is a little trickier than you might think. Most cookies are found in the following folder location:

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Cookies\Low

So you can just type that into the windows address bar and it will come up, but make sure to replace <user> with your Computers username.  If you're not sure how to access the windows address bar, just open up the "Documents" folder and you'll see the address bar at the top (to the left of the search box).  Now you can just click on the address bar and replace "Documents" with "AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Cookies\Low", and then hit "Enter" on your keyboard to quickly access most of the Cookies on your computer.

By default the Cookies folder is hidden, so to access the folder without typing in the location directly into the windows address bar, you need to show hidden files and folders.  To do this follow these steps:

  1. Click 'Start' -> then click on 'Control Panel'
  2. On the left side of the 'Control Panel' window, click on "Classic View"
  3. Now click on "Folder Options"
  4. In the "Folder Options" pop-up box, select the "View" tab
  5. Within "Advanced Settings", select "Show hidden files and folders".
  6. Also uncheck "Hide protected operating system files".  A "Warning" pop-up box will appear asking "Are you sure you want to display these files?", which you will want to click the 'Yes' button.
  7. To save your settings click 'Apply', then click 'OK'.

 Now you should be able to see and locate the 'Cookies' folder easily.

 

 


0
0

Add your comment

by Anonymous - Already have an account? Login now!
Your Name:

Comment:
Enter the text you see in the image below
What do you see?
Can't read the image? View a new one.
Your comment will appear after being approved.

Related Posts


Windows operating systems (such as Windows Vista), every file extention is associated with a default program. When you open a file, the program that is associated to the file extension will open the file by default. However, you can change or set the...  more »

To create a border outline for a transparent rectangle or circle in Photoshop do the following: Select the "Rectangle Marquee Tool" (or use the "Circle Marquee Tool" for drawing an oval) and then draw an outline for the border area. Go to the "Edit" menu...  more »

GodMode is a hidden system control panel in Windows 7 that lets you access all the operating system's control panels from within a single folder without the need to browse options and folders in the Control Panel. To access "GodMode" follow these steps:...  more »

UPDATE 12-16-2011: If you are using ASP.NET and your website / database is live, and you want to take the database offline, you're better off putting an App_Offline.htm file in your website main directory to first take the website down for maintance (I...  more »

Learn how to manually initiate the transferring of pictures to your computer with Kodak's EasyShare software.  more »

Prevent a CD or DVD from automatically playing when it’s inserted into your computer.  more »

It's not the most intuitive process to add an Apple Store Gift Card to the Wallet app on your iPhone. Apple Store gift cards seem to be considered Apple Passes, not Apple Pay/ Credit cards. Fortunately, there is a way to do it that's not too complicated...  more »

If you’re running your own dedicated Windows server, then you may need to know how to setup FTP Sites in Windows Server 2003. In this how-to article I will go through the basics of setting up a windows FTP user account, and an FTP Site, which will allow a user to connect to a website using an FTP program.  more »

SQL Server Reporting Services can be a pain in the arse to set up correctly for the first time. Even after you've got things running correctly, you can sometimes run into issues, which is exactly what happened to me recently. I had setup my local...  more »

There's a good chance that if you're database driven application is running into the following sql error message that says "String or binary data would be truncated", that the error is being caused by an issue in a SQL statement or in the SQL code of a...  more »

OpenOffice Calc lets users import data from various other systems. It is able to open up files of many other applications and convert them. A. You can check what types of files OpenOffice Calc is able to convert in the File > Open menu. Go to the File...  more »

If you like having the Printers selection button on the Vista Start menu, you can easily add it to the menu. Follow these steps to add the Printers button to the Vista Start menu: Right click on an empty area on the Taskbar and then select Properties....  more »