How to Delete All Data on Your iPhone

by

Before selling your iPhone, you need to make sure that all of your messages, emails, photos etc. are removed from the device. This is to prevent somebody else from using your personal data against you.

Before deleting any of your files, your iPhone should have a backup. Your backup can either be iTunes or iCloud.

Using iTunes to Backup your iPhone

1.) Establish a connection with your PC and your iPhone. You can use the computer that you usually sync with your Apple device.

2.) In the left side of iTunes, look for Devices and choose your iPhone.

3.) Control-click or right click the device and choose Back Up.

Reminder: Make sure that you have already transferred your purchases from your iPhone to your PC before you select Back Up. This can be done through a right click on your device and by tapping “Transfer Purchases”.

 

Using iCloud to Backup your iPhone

If you decide to use iCloud as your backup, then you shouldn’t have to worry about anything for iCloud is an automated back up system that operates regularly. However, you can run iCloud before you delete anything on your phone to make sure that you have saved all of your files.

1.) Have a stable Wi-Fi connection.

2.) Tap on the Settings app of your iPhone.

3.) Go to iCloud and proceed to Storage and Backup

4.) If iCloud Backup is Turned On, then look for Back Up Now and tap on it.

 

Deleting all of the settings and files on your iPhone 

1.) Go to Settings app.

2.) Choose General.

3.) Look for Reset at the bottom of the page.

4.) Choose the “Erase All Content and Settings” option by tapping on it.

5.) Enter your password if you have any.

6.) Read the prompt that would appear on your phone.

7.) Choose the ‘Erase iPhone’ button by tapping on it.

Unregister or unlink your Apple device

You are recommended to unlink your Apple device from its official website as well. This is to prevent the new user of your iPhone in using your Apple ID.

1.) Open your browser and enter the url: https://supportprofile.apple.com/MySupportProfile.do

2.) If you are not yet logged in, then carefully enter your credentials.

3.) Choose Edit Products.

4.) Select the x mark which can be found on the product’s right side.

5.) Choose Unregister.

Unlink your device from other websites as well.

 


0
0

Add your comment

by Anonymous - Already have an account? Login now!
Your Name:  

Comment:  
Enter the text you see in the image below
What do you see?
Can't read the image? View a new one.
Your comment will appear after being approved.

Related Posts


Setting up Gmail on your Apple device can involve a few steps. Here's how to get Gmail setup on an iPhone that uses Apple's Mail app: 1.) Tap the "Settings" app on your iPhone. Then select "Calendar, Contacts and Mail" from the populated list. 2.) Tap on...  more »

Today Apple released it's latest operating system, iOS 7.0 for iPhone and iPad devices, along with the newest version of iTunes 11.1. So to get the latest and greatest iOS for your iPhone or iPad here's how you can download and install iOS 7.0. NOTE: Just...  more »

I recently began getting a "Storage Almost Full" message on my 16GB iPhone 5. After deleting most of my photos and videos from my iphone and unsyncing all music, I still had only freed up a few GBs of space. Also in iTunes, it was still showing I had 4...  more »

By using iTunes, you are able to backup your settings, applications and personal data from an iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. You'll definitely want to backup your iPhone if you are upgrading to a newer iPhone model (or plan to sell your iPhone) so can...  more »

Here's how you can turn off FaceTime calling on your iPhone 5 running iOS 6: 1. Open the Settings app. 2. Scroll down and tap on FaceTime. 3. Toggle the FaceTime switch to the Off position. 4. Facetime will now be turned off, and you will no longer be...  more »

Can i decrease the iphone brightness at night so the screen is not so bright?  more »

Losing your iPhone can be a total disaster. Not only can all of your personal information be exposed to the public without your consent, but you then would need to have the money to purchase a new iphone. Losing this expensive gadget is not something you...  more »

The Find My iPhone app, allows you to locate, lock, or erase your iPhone and prevents it from being erased or reactivated without your password. However, before you sell or give away your iPhone (or iOS device), you'll want to be sure to turn off Find My...  more »

Transferring your media files from your iPhone to your iTunes is as easy as counting 1, 2 and 3. Listed below are the steps that will let you do just that. Use Senuti or Sharepod If you are using a Mac computer and you want to transfer thousands of songs,...  more »

By switching on your iPhone 5's Personal Hotspot feature, you essentailly can turn your iPhone into a WiFi router that other devices can connect to the internet through. You can also establish a password protected network connection which can be shared...  more »

Now that the iPhone 5 has already settled in the market, it’s now time for you to read this article and know the changes that you need to do in order for you to successfully “travel” from iOS to Android. But before that, what are...  more »