What to do After Accidentally Clicking on Your Own Google Adsense ads

What should I do after I've mistakenly clicked on an Adsense ad in my own website?
by Updated January 29, 2009

Accidents do happen, and sometimes while you’re browsing your own website you may mistakenly click on one of your own Google Adsense ads.  While one mistaken click probably won’t get you booted out of the Adsense program, it’s still a good idea to report any erroneous clicks to Adsense so they know what happened and that you weren’t trying to scam an advertiser out of money for your own benefit. 

* Update 6-18-2007: Google no longer wants you to email them if you clicked on your own ads.  However, if you do want to notify them, follow the instructions below.

To alert Google, you can send them an email message to adsense-support@google.com and let them know that you accidentally clicked your own Adsense ad unit.  You may want to include the following info in your email:

  1. Your website and the URL of the page where the erroneous click was made.
  2. The date and time of the click.
  3. The advertiser’s website address that you accidentally clicked thru to.
  4. A brief explanation of what happened and that the click was accidental.
  5. You may also want to include something along the lines of: "Please deduct any payment that may have occurred due to this clickthru from my account."
  6. Any other information that may be helpful to Adsense such as your Adsense sign in email address.

 

 

 

 


0
0

Add your comment

by Anonymous - Already have an account? Login now!
Your Name:

Comment:
Enter the text you see in the image below
What do you see?
Can't read the image? View a new one.
Your comment will appear after being approved.

Related Posts


In the past, I've wanted to make a screenshot of an entire web page (even the stuff below the fold) and the only way to do it was to take screenshots of individual sections of the page and then piece them together in photoshop. However, there's a much...  more »

Easily add a line break to an HTML ToolTip.  more »

It starts getting pretty anonying when Firefox keeps popping up a box asking to remember passwords everytime you enter a Username and Password for a site. To stop Firefox from doing this, here's a quick tip on how to get Firefox to stop asking to save...  more »

A lot of social bookmarking sites are now iFraming in other websites, in order to keep traffic on their site so they get more pageviews. In order to get around the HTML iFraming of your site, below is a little javascript code that will automatically get a...  more »

Your account in Facebook can be temporarily deactivated. However, if you want to permanently delete it from the social networking site, then you would just have to do the following steps. Temporarily Deactivating It 1.) If you are still uncertain of your...  more »

Here's a quick tip on how to make Internet Explorer your Default web browser: Open Internet Explorer. Click on the Tools menu, then select Internet Options. In the Internet Options pop-up box, select the Programs tab. Then in the Default web browser...  more »

Blocking your ads from displaying on crappy sites that don't convert is an essential part of Pay Per Click (PPC) advertising. It's especially important if you're doing Pay Per Click (PPC) advertising with Yahoo Search Marketing since they tend to show...  more »

Facebook now makes it possible to Link Your Facebook Page to your Twitter account. Essentially, you're able to share status updates, links, photos, notes, and events with your followers on Twitter, directly from your Facebook Page. So things you post to...  more »

Craigslist is an online local advertising medium that allows you to post free classified ads on the web. You can get the same type of exposure similar to a garage sale but you do it over the internet. Even if you have never used an online classified site...  more »

This is one of those simple web page design things that can drive a web developer absolutely crazy.  more »

A stalker on Facebook is someone who can be hard to get rid of especially when you don’t have what it takes to be rude to them. If you don't completely defriend them, his person will stay as your friend in the social networking site and will...  more »

Using Facebook began with curiosity. We wanted to know what’s going on and we wanted to be considered “in” so that’s why almost all of us created our respective accounts. However, this social networking site can easily become an...  more »